Skip to content

Movin’ Out!

31 July 2008

Well, that’s it from Jerusalem.  I’ve moved out of my apartment, and am currently stealing some WiFi out on a nearby playground while I wait for my Sherut (shared taxi–nifty little thing that pretty much every other country in the world has discovered) to Ben-Gurion airport.  Moving out was a truly ridiculous procedure, I have to say.  After cleaning my room and moving everything out, I was required to have it inspected in person by a staff member, then go sign a form saying that it had been inspected, get a copy of it, and then walk a half mile to deliver the form to another office on campus so that they’ll release transcripts.  Evidently, the idea of putting this forms into an envelope at the dorm, and shipping them en masse to another office never occurred to Hebrew U–instead, they’d rather have 200 people individually make the trek to deliver the form.  Argh.

As they were checking out my room, though, the guy asked me where I was from.  I said the U.S., and he looked absolutely astounded.  “I thought you were English!” he exclaimed.  When I asked why, he responded “Your room was clean!”.  Needless to say that Ben (a Brit himself) was very pleased.

Anyways, I’m planning on continuing to blog (although with a bit less frequency, what with school and all), and I’ll leave this up as my blog for whenever I’m traveling again.  Hopefully that won’t be too long from now, and I’ll have more adventures and photos to throw at you soon.  In the meantime, check out flickr  for a more complete inventory of my pictures from this trip.  

Signing off from Jerusalem,

Hal

P.S. Does anything else think this could go very wrong, very fast?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Cari permalink
    10 August 2008 3:44 am

    You – clean??? It must have been Ben’s influence. 🙂

    P.S. Um….golden retriever with tiger cubs? Apart from being hilarious….what the heck does that have to do with anything??

Leave a Reply

