Skip to content

Moment: Baseball

8 February 2010

By the time I gather my coat and load my backpack, the sun has been down for two hours.  I place my work shoes neatly in their box–indicated by the label reading “Edmonson Hal Massoth” on the outside, walk across the cold linoleum to where my boots are waiting.  Outside, the snow is gusting horizontally to the ground.  It is dark, and the road home will be lit by the taillights ahead of me.

The herd of shadows jogs by as I open the door.  The rustling of their synthetic baseball jackets filters through the wind as they shout “Gokurousamadeshita!”–“Thanks for all the hard work”–taking care to individually remove their caps, genuflecting in my direction.  The captain, a seventh grader, continues his barked cadence.  He urges them on for another five laps around the grounds. I turn the ignition, and  look for them in my mirrors, but they are gone from sight.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 31 December 2014 8:32 pm

    Hello, after reading this aweeome article i am also cheerful to share my experience here with colleagues.

Leave a Reply

