Skip to content

Shameless Plug

7 April 2010

My friend Chase edits a column series in The Carletonian in which writers explore the question “What does it mean to be a good man?”.  Grounded in the premise that a open, constructive dialogue about masculine identity is invaluable to combating sexual violence, objectification, and sexism, the series hopes to provoke a resassessment of virtues and obligations from a male perspective.  If you ask me, the columns themselves have been somewhat hit or miss, but a worthwhile effort to say the least.

Anyways, as a favor to Chase, I wrote my first and very likely last article for The Carletonian a couple of weeks back.  I chafed at the space restrictions as though they were a sandpaper jock strap, but it certainly seems to have struck a chord with more than a few people.  In that light, I’m sharing it here for you to peruse or ignore at your leisure.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 April 2010 10:49 pm

    Hey Hal,
    Just for the record, you’ve always been one of the best men I know. I’m glad I found you on teh interwebs! The pieces about your students are really lovely, and I hope Japan is full of those awesome little moments for you.

    I am respectfully requesting a chatty email. I misses my Halliburton.

    BIG GIANT HUG,
    ~Teagle

  2. E Volz permalink
    13 May 2010 10:53 pm

    Your article didn’t make it through the DOD firewall… I’ll have to remember to read it later 🙂

Leave a Reply

